Google+

Birthday Wish 2013

2

March 28, 2013 by the UBUNTU girl

Image

‘We’re gonna party like its your birthday……!’

It’s my birthday and ‘we’re gonna party like it’s your birthday’ πŸ˜‰

Ja, it is becoming a bit of an institution for me to write a birthday wish-list. Last year I asked for a bus! Well, that was brave! (or stupid….thin line) This year I had the message all planned up. I knew what I was going to share, what my wishes are. I was going to tell you the exciting news about having co-founded ‘the UBUNTU effect’, a registered South African Non-profit Organisation (105-510 NPO). I was going to tell you about the incredible Sarah-Leigh Watson (nee Paul), the other co-founder and how we sharpen our colouring pencils and become creative about how we can effect social change. I was going to become lyrical about how this is the perfect vehicle for the UBUNTU bus! But that sounded funny (vehicle for a vehicle…)

So many people often ask how they can become involved in this UBUNTU work, so I was going to rave about our first fund-raising campaign (rave, yeah, because those colouring pencils came up with a crazy cool idea of drawing people in. Drawing…get it???) But that can wait till next month, when we plan to officially launch

I was going to tell you how tough the past 2 years have been. It’s challenging these days for anybody to survive with a monthly salary, let alone living month to month, mouth to mouth, hoping for a paid speaking engagement. And then I think of how I would open the fridge, to find a plate of food with a note: ‘I’ve cooked too much ;)’ My room-mate Liani. Anyhoo, I was working on a kick-ass presentation that showcases my versatility and experience as a public speaker. And I was trying to formulate the correct words, from a marketing perspective about the value that I can add blah blah when all I wanted to do was find a dignified way of shouting: ‘Pick me! Pick me!’

Ag, it was going to be such a clever and professional write up, using all the right grown up words!

I was still playing with these words, daydreaming about all things UBUNTU in my head, whilst I was cycling down to my local supermarket yesterday. Bread and milk (in case you were wondering). I almost didn’t see the old lady cross the road. I mean, did she not see me coming around the corner with a bit-of-a-hellova speed?!?! I managed to dodge her. And her library books and the oncoming car and the car behind me and the pavement and finally the library (made of bricks) itself! There was no response from the elderly women. She continued and reached the pavement safely. She had no idea I was there! Astounded, I realised there’s nothing for it, but to go on my merry way too.

Shakily, I reached the trolley area of the supermarket. I usually chain the bicycle to a rail. Someone has placed a trolley on its side next to the rail. Really! I’m ready to kick the frigging rail! What? Am I not allowed to ‘park’ here? I see a cleaning woman, sweeping and smiling. I ask her whether I’m allowed to chain my bicycle there. She seems to think so and moves the trolley for me. She carries on sweeping. She pauses and smiles when she sees two women embracing. They’ve just left the coffee shop and it’s clear that they are old friends who have not seen each other in yonks. The cleaner is mesmerised by their energy. She smiles. I can see that she is happy for them.

I feel like a fool! I realise that I hadn’t even said hello to the cleaner, which is usually a given for me. I come from Zululand. In Zulu, you greet another person with: Sawubona, which translates to: I see you. And a common response is: Ngikhona which means: I am here. I wasn’t seeing and I was definitely not ‘here’ when I narrowly missed the granny in the road either! I stood with the cleaner for a while. We watched a group of tourists interacting with a street vendor. We just listened to people’s lives as it came past us in titbits. Perhaps we can all take a moment to be present. Or to be a present in someone’s life. Or to be happy for someone else’s happiness

That strong inner voice of mine: β€œIt is all good and well to have an NPO, Sonja. It is great to want to unite the spirit of UBUNTU across all races and creeds. But, sweet child, social change starts at home!”

My birthday is your birthday is our birthday πŸ˜‰

Thank you for reading

Sonja Kruse
+27 72 308 8116

http://www.theubuntugirl.co.za

ubuntuabundance@gmail.com
Twitter: @theubuntugirl
LinkedIn: http://za.linkedin.com/in/sonjakruse
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/theubuntugirl
Skype: skruse2

2 thoughts on “Birthday Wish 2013

  1. moviealchemist says:

    Hey Ubuntu Girl

    Happy happy birthday. may all your wishes and dreams come to fruition.

    I also wish for you that you are filled with energy and strength to get through this next period.

    Take care
    Phil
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

  2. Susan Risko says:

    Wise words, Sonja. We all need to remember this. This message is often left behind in the hustle and bustle of life. Reading such beautiful words provides a reminder for what’s really important and can return us to the present in such moments. This is something I needed to hear and embrace in my life right now. May we all embrace this together!

Leave a comment